Cookie Decorating Play Date

Princess WandPlay Date (5)

Who doesn’t love a cookie?!?!?!  What’s more delicious for most (not me) is a thickly frosted cookie like the loft house ones. Let take a quick peek at what those loft house cookies look like.

1994_cookies

I’ll admit, I really like the cookie part and scrap off the icing straight into the sink!! Hey don’t judge it is a lot less calories, hence less guilt of eating more than one!!! Because we all know you can’t just eat one of these delicious cookies. Now on to our play date!!!  I found a recipe online to make copy cat loft house cookies, and while they didn’t look exactly like them, they tasted pretty damn good. This is the Lofthouse copy cat recipe I used. I stayed pretty true to the recipe and varied a little with the icing by adding less sugar and maybe a little more cream, I wasn’t measuring them!!  Opps.

DSCN1613_edited

Those are mine, and while they didn’t turn out smooth like loft house cookies, they were soft and tasty. I think maybe I should have smooshed them down a little to make them smooth on the top, I will admit I didn’t read the directions for that part, I just scooped them out and plopped them on the tray.

DSCN1615_edited

I made the frosting the morning of, right before our play date, I did not add any dyes or coloring to the frosting, because that was just one more step and I knew the kids wouldn’t care about the color of the frosting, they were excited to eat the cookies!!!

20170517_111450[1]_edited

After playing for a while, they got to decorate and eat their cookies, and everyone enjoyed them, so I would say that recipe was a success and one that I will use again for my sugar cookies, I loved that they were soft and cake like.

20170517_112409[1]_edited

My little Lily loved her cookie!!!  Her older brother got an uniced one in his lunch box and said it was yummy!!!!

Hope you enjoy doing a play date like this, it is super simple, but so much fun for the kids!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

