Fluffy Slime that works!!!

Princess WandPlay Date

Now I saw this video on Facebook of someone making a Fluffy Slime recipe, and I thought to myself, well if I make it, it will be a ROYAL mess.  So on an afternoon where my kids were driving me crazy, I thought I would make my life a little more interesting by following and tweaking Thirty Handmade Days recipe. I only had one royal mess, and I’m not sure what happened, but I think it was because I did it out of order. So here’s what you will need.

DSCN1771_edited

All these ingredients are things you probably have around the house, my house does because it is a craft house. So once you have everything ready and a bowl to mix it in let’s go!!!

First you are going to dump you glue in to your bowl.

DSCN1760_edited

It’s 4 ounces or 1/2 cup or let’s make it super easy a regular bottle of glue!!!

Then you are going to add your dye to the glue if you are making it a different color then white.

DSCN1761_edited

My son wanted blue, his sister already had purple made.

Now let’s “measure” out some foaming shaving cream. I used a 1/2 a cup measure to make my life even more crazy, I did 6 of those, which is approximately 3 cups.

DSCN1762_edited

Foaming shaving cream is not the easiest thing to measure, so if it is a little more or less don’t sweat it!!!

Next mix the glue and shaving cream together!!

DSCN1764_edited

It turned a light shade of blue, you can make it darker or lighter just depends on what color you are going for, both mine came out light, because I didn’t use that much food coloring.

Now it’s time to add the baking soda and saline solution. I added 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda and 3 teaspoons of saline solution, now if you added a little more shaving cream feel free to add more saline solution until the mixture is not sticky 🙂

DSCN1765_edited

Once it is kneadable, take it out and add a squirt or two of some oil, that will make sure it doesn’t stick, I had to add and extra squirt after my son starting playing with it, it all came together nicely.

DSCN1766_edited

My kids had a blast playing with this slime, and it was the best recipe I have used to date!! It will be used again in our house later this summer!!!

The slime kept them busy for at least and hour. To save it just place it in a plastic baggie. And if you are wondering if it comes out of hair, the answer is YES, just place the child in the bath or shower and wash like normal. Yes one of my children thought it would be funny to put his glasses and hair in the slime.

I hope you all enjoy playing with this fun stuff, let me know how it works for you!!!

Recipe:

  • 1 4 ounce bottle of glue
  • 3 cups of foaming shaving cream
  • as little or as many drop of food coloring (depending on how light or dark you would like your slime)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 3 teaspoons of saline solution
  • a couple squirts of baby oil or sweet almond oil, or what ever non scented oil you have on hand.

Mix the glue and shaving cream with the food coloring first. Then add the baking soda and saline solution and mix until it starts to come together, then knead in some oil to help it not be sticky. When finished playing with the slime place it in a plastic baggie.

4 thoughts on “Fluffy Slime that works!!!

  1. simplekindamom says:

    My LO is too young for this but I’ll have to pass it onto my mom, my little brother LOVES this type of stuff. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

