Chicken Gyros

Chicken Gyro's Recipe from a Mom and her Momtourage

Chicken Gyro’s Recipe from a Mom and her Momtourage #Recipe #Chicken #dinner #gyro #greek #specialsauce #chickengyro

This chicken is seriously the one thing that EVERYONE in my house loves!!! It is amazingly simple and easy to make you just need a few things!!! I am even including my Dad’s secret sauce for your eating pleasure!!!  I know my friend Shelly will be excited to have the recipe as it is easy and simple and I know she loves sauces.

Here what you need for the chicken:

  • around a pound of chicken breast, if you get whole breasts I like to make them thinner by slicing them in half.
  • 1 tbs Mc Cormick’s Greek (I bought mine from Sam’s)
  • a lemon, both zested and juiced
  • clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup of Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Alrighty, let’s get to marinading that chicken!!! You will add the chicken breast, Greek seasoning, lemon zest and juice, the garlic, olive oil, and season with salt and pepper to taste. You can leave the chicken for as little as 20 minutes up to 24 hours. I have also frozen the chicken at this point and it does great!!

DSCN1781_edited

There she is, all in her marinading glory!!!  When you are ready to cook, bring it out about 20 minutes before to let it come up to room temperature, that helps it to cook faster and more evenly.

DSCN1783_edited

I usually grill mine on my Treager, but was having a difficult time with the grill, so I threw it on my flat top and seared it away, it took about 7-10 minutes, turning half way through.

DSCN1788_edited

Isn’t she pretty!!!  So while we let her rest, let’s whip up that special sauce I was talking about.

Here’s what you will need:

  • 1/4 c mayo
  • 1/4 c sour cream
  • 1 garlic close minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • (optional) a squeeze of lemon, my husband doesn’t like that but I do!!

You will mix everything together in a bowl and there you go!!!

DSCN1785_edited

Now grab your favorite gyro toppings, mine are tomatoes, cucumber, and red onion, you can also add feta and some olives if you have those around.

DSCN1789_edited

I hope you all enjoy a one of our family favorites!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

