Delicious Pecan Coffee Cake

Pecan Coffee Cake

Being from Texas, I love Pecans!!!!  I think love just might be an understatement. I drink Pecan coffee every day, so far my favorite is still the HEB brand coffee, I have tried a couple others, but that is the one I keep going back too. And I am so glad that HEB ships products out to me now!!!  I can demolish a Pecan Pie with out blinking an eye, which I’m not sure that is truly something to be proud of knowing how many calories and how much sugar is in that thing, but man it is so delicious. Thankfully I only make them around the holidays. I love to eat just raw pecans, they are my go to nut. So naturally I have been on the hunt for a Pecan Coffee Cake that was easy to make and extremely tasty. I like the one from Sara Lee, in the freezer section of the grocery store, but I really wanted a homemade version. So off to hunt one down on Pinterest!!!!

And needless to say I found the one and only perfect pecan coffee cake recipe. I have tweaked it a little from the original blog post over on Welcome Home’s blog.

Pecan Coffee Cake

Let’s get into the recipe. There are a few different steps, but I will list everything you need out first.

Filling

1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup chopped pecans

Cake

1 3/4 all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs
1 cup sour cream

Honey Glaze

1/4 cup cinnamon honey (or just your favorite honey)
1 cup chopped pecans

Let’s make the cake!!!  Lily helped me out here, which meant that I also didn’t 100% follow the order of the recipe and just did it dump style, and it worked out just fine!!

Preheat your oven to 350.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and the sugar together, once they are light and fluffy add in the vanilla, cream until combined. Add in one egg at a time, mixing to combine before adding the next one. Once your wet ingredients are combined time to dump in your dry (and I know I still have one more wet ingredient). Combine everything together, then add in your sour cream and combine until everything is well blended. Easy Peasy dump style cake mix.

Spray your pan, I used a 9 inch Spring form pan to give me that Sara Lee kind of looked and it worked perfectly. Then add in about 2/3 of the mixture into the bottom of the pan making sure it is evenly spread out, then put on the cinnamon sugar pecan mixture. Then add the rest of the cake batter. Don’t freak out, that there isn’t enough batter, swirl the batter and the filling together until it looks all covered. Trust me it works.

Then place in to your preheated 350 degree oven for 35 – 45 minutes, depending on your oven. Use a cake tester to check for doneness, the tester will come out almost clean, there will be some crumb left on it.

When the cake is close to being ready to come out of the oven prepare your Honey glaze. I heated my 1/4 cup of honey until it became runny then added my pecans into it. And topped the cake off with the glaze as soon as it came out, so that some of the honey would soak into the cake and give it a nice sweetness. You can go a step further and do an icing on top, but I do not think that it is necessary, with all the sweetness already in and on top of the cake.

Pecan Coffee Cake

I hope you enjoy this quick and simple coffee cake, let me know how you love it and if you tweak it even more to suit your tastes. I am working on a gluten free option for this recipe and will be posting it closer to Thanksgiving, once I have it tasting super yummy!!!

 

 

28 thoughts on “Delicious Pecan Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

