Gree’s Strawberry Cake

Gree's Strawberry CAke

My Grandmother recently passed away, and my mom asked me what I wanted from her house. All I wanted was her recipe boxes and a jewelry box that was filled with costume jewelry. Those are the two things that I remember vividly from my childhood. Me and my Gree (which is what I called my Grandmother) spent every weekend together. We always cleaned my house first then went to her house and baked the afternoon away or as I got older went shopping. Baking was something that she did best. Her best recipe was cinnamon rolls and chocolate chip cookies. I always had a blast on the weekends with her. I also spent most of my summers with her as well, both me and my cousin, and later my brother spent a lot of time over there.

Gree's recipe vault

All of her recipes are from the 1950’s, 60’s, and 70’s, and some of them I have had before and some of them are brand new to me and will be a fun adventure. The first recipe I made from her recipe cards was a Strawberry Cake, I did tweak it a little bit but not that much. I chose this one as my first because Lily, my daughter, loves strawberries, and since we are at the end of strawberry season I thought it would be a nice treat for her. I will say she does approve of this recipe, so I think I have done my Gree proud with this one.

Here’s the recipe card that I had to go off of, there weren’t any directions just a list of ingredients, so I kind of improvised leaning on my baking memories.

Gree's Handwritten Recipe Card

I will admit, the first attempt I forgot the baking powder, and it was a no go, but I was determined to make it correctly so back to the store for more strawberries!!!

Strawberry Cake

Doesn’t she look pretty?!?! On to the recipe!!!!

Ingredients

1/4 Cup Shortening*, I used butter flavored
1/2 Cup Sugar
2 egg yolks
1/2 Tsp Vanilla**
1 3/4 Cups Flour
1/4 Tsp Salt
2 Tsp Baking Powder
1/2 Cup Milk
2 Stiffly beaten egg whites
1/2 pint Strawberries, quartered***

Preheat your oven to 350°F and grease a cake pan. I used a bundt pan, but you could also use a 9 inch round cake pan.

Start by separating your eggs and beating your egg whites to stiff peaks. Next in a clean bowl add the shortening and sugar and beat until well combined, add vanilla and mix in. Then add one egg yolk at a time, combining each time. Next beat in those egg whites, yes I know that sounds weird, but I use this method for my tres leches cake and it always comes out perfect. Then add in your milk, then dump in the flour, salt, and baking powder (don’t forget the baking powder, you will regret it). Once everything is combined mix in the strawberries by hand.

Dump in to your baking dish and place in your preheated oven for about 40 minutes.

Once the cake is done, let it cool before serving. You can decorate it with either icing sugar or make a strawberry buttercream icing.

*You can replace this with regular butter if shortening isn’t your thing.
** Instead of the Almond extract, I used Vanilla just because I like that better.
*** I reduced the amount of berries to make sure it didn’t get too gooey inside.

Slice of Strawberry Cake

Serve it with a dollop of whipped cream and you will be in strawberry heaven!!!

 

2 thoughts on “Gree’s Strawberry Cake

Leave a Reply

